Two graduates from the School of Allied Health Professions walk down the aisle during their commencement ceremony

Graduation is a time to celebrate, as this member of the class of 2016 at Loma Linda University School of Allied Health Professions attests.

At the second of two commencement services for the Loma Linda University School of Allied Health Professions, which was held at 10:30 a.m. on Sunday, July 12, in Drayson Center, a total of 266 students graduated with associates, bachelors, masters, and doctoral degrees. The second commencement service focuses on individuals receiving their degree in communication sciences and disorders,  occupational therapy, and physical therapy.

Craig R. Jackson, JD, MSW, dean of the school, introduced Dilys A. Brooks, MDiv, associate chaplain of Loma Linda University, as the speaker for the service. In her presentation, which was titled "Live It!", Brooks challenged the students to adopt the organization's mission to continue the teaching and healing ministry of Jesus Christ a part of their lives and professional practices.

After a welcome by Richard H. Hart, MD, DrPH, president of Loma Linda University Health, Tyretel Iancu, a member of the class of 2016, sang "A Living Prayer" by Allison Krauss.

The following individuals from each of the following programs were recognized at the service with awards:

Communication Sciences and Disorders

  • Brianna Mitchell: President's Award
  • Abigail Namsang: Distinguished Alumnus
  • Kayla Villamater: Outstanding Senior Award
  • Kalyse Rose: E. Evelyn Britt Promising Student Award
  • Lillian Williams: Rising Star Award

Occupatioal Therapy

  • Jessica Adams: Alumni Award
  • Richard Zecha: Alumni Award
  • Joyce Khowdee: Faculty Award
  • Christine Tambunan: Faculty Award
  • Megan Meyer: Edwinna Marshall Leadership Award
  • Lizet Falstreau: Lynn Arrateig Clinical Practice Award
  • Sara Katleman: Lynn Arrateig Clinical Practice Award
  • Amanda Rank: Community Outreach Award
  • Jason Villanueva: Community Outreach Award
  • Katherine Puccio: Rising Star Award
  • Karen Pendleton: Distinguished Alumna of the Year Award
  • Kirby Parnala: Hamid Javaherian Scholarship Award

Physical Therapy, Physical Therapist Assistant

  • Kristen N. Beall: Scholarship Excellence Award
  • Andrea M. Cafferky: Scholarship Excellence Award
  • Hillary A. Juhl: Scholarship Excellence Award
  • Kelly N. Marsh: Scholarship Excellence Award
  • Kristen N. Beal: Exceptional Service Award
  • Rebecca A. Bletscher: Exceptional Service Award
  • Irmina K. Frederickson: Exceptional Service Award
  • Aaron J. Howley: Exceptional Service Award
  • Armand D. Watson: Exceptional Service Award
  • Robert Amador: PTA Program Faculty Award
  • Zachary E. Bethel: PTA Program Faculty Award
  • Melia L. Gullotti: PTA Program Faculty Award
  • Art A. Latios: PTA Program Faculty Award
  • Kelly N. Marsh: PTA Program Faculty Award
  • Kayla N. Stowell: PTA Program Faculty Award
  • Daniel B. Sandoval: PTA Program Faculty Award
  • Nicholas Wysocki: PTA Program Faculty Award
  • Jay M. Franks: Randall C. Isley Memorial Award

Physical Therapy, Doctor of Physical Therapy 

  • Kaitlyn Barilla: Dean's Award
  • Lisa McMillan: Community Service Award
  • Kaitlyn Barilla: PT Faculty Award
  • Lisa McMillan: PT Faculty Award
  • Kaitlyn Barilla: Scholarship Excellence Award
  • Jordan Cardoza: Scholarship Excellence Award
  • Kari Johnson: Scholarship Excellence Award
  • Sasha Scofield: Scholarship Excellence Award
  • Marquita Scott: Scholarship Excellence Award
  • Cheyne Yanigasawa: Scholarship Excellence Award
  • Abigail Arango: Thomas G. Burke Scholarship Award
  • Marissa Lavalle: Thomas G. Burke Scholarship Award
  • Melissa Macarewa: Thomas G. Burke Scholarship Award
  • Erin Skrettingland: Thomas G. Burke Scholarship Award
  • Jennifer Nguyen: Jonna Hughes Memorial Scholarship Award
  • David Peterson: Distinguished Alumnus Award
  • Trevor Lohman: Rising Star Award
  • Iman Akef Khowailed: Doctoral Award for Outstanding Research

Honored Faculty and Alumni

  • Antonio Valenzuela: Distinguished Service Award
  • Sandra Roberts: Distinguished Alumna of the Year
  • Katherine Davis: Faculty of the Year Award
  • Edd Ashley: Trailblazer Award, posthumous

At the end of the ceremony, graduates met their friends and family members beside the aquatic center and celebrated their significant achievements.